Peregrine Espresso // Washington, D.C.

Name: Peregrine Espresso

Location: 660 Pennsylvania Ave SE Washington DC 20003 (Eastern Market) (*they also have two other locations: one on 14th street and one in Union Market)

Closest Metro Stop: Right across the street from Eastern Market Metro Stop

OutsideVibe: It’s very open and bright. Simplicity is really key here and I dig it. You can tell they focus on simply good coffee and nothing else. It’s full of a variety of people from families to older people as well as young people working and reading and socializing. It’s inviting and happy.

Wifi: Yes, they have it.

Hours: *change per location, but for the Eastern Market location, Monday-Saturday 7AM-9PM, Sunday 8AM-8PM

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 2.31.40 PM

Coffee & Food: Disclaimer: For some reason, I really built this place up in my head. I thought it was going to be the best thing ever because I had heard such incredible things about it. But then I went and it just really missed the mark for me. Are you ready for quite possibly the weirdest comparison of coffee you’ve ever heard? I swear to god, to me, their coffee, the mocha specifically, tasted like tomato soup. Yep, I’m confused too. I have absolutely no idea why that was the first thing I thought of, but I just couldn’t help but taste tomato soup as I was attempting to drink the coffee. Obviously not ideal, but I’m also going out on a limb suggesting that this is incredibly specific to me. As for the food, I was also disappointed with what they had out in their case. Nothing but the molasses cookie looked appealing to me and that’s what I got. I’ve had better but it was fine. I wouldn’t get it again nor would I recommend it.

Music: It’s not really loud enough for you to pinpoint what song is playing. It’s nice to have some background though that’s soft enough where it’s easy to hold a conversation without shouting or think without having to block out distracting music.

Price: It was $5.75 for the mocha and cookie ($4.50 for mocha, $1.25 for cookie) which I found to be great. But, like I’ve said before, I would always rather pay more for extraordinary coffee and food than pay less for subpar.

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 2.49.20 PM

Seating: There’s some seating outside which is really, really great on a nice day… that’s where the majority of people sat. There’s also quite a bit of seating inside which I found to be comfortable. It wasn’t difficult to find and I was able to stay for a long time. There’s also plugs everywhere which greatly aids in my ability to stay for, like, ever.

Overall: I’m super bummed that my taste buds decided their coffee tasted like tomato soup because I really like the vibe of Peregrine Espresso. With three locations in DC, they’re obviously doing something right. Sadly, chances are slim I would come back but for the patio, it might be worth coming back and trying something else (I’ve heard their chocolate milk is pretty great). Have you been to Peregrine? I’m super intrigued to know your experience, so please share if you have been!

If you haven’t already, make sure to sign up for the newsletter where you’ll see exclusive content and recaps.

As always, you can follow along by following the hashtag #coffeexploring and @musingsovermochas

Leave a Reply

