Dean & Deluca // Washington, D.C.

Name: Dean & Deluca

Location: 3276 M St NW, Washington, DC‎

Closest Metro Stop: We’re in Georgetown, so there’s not a metro close by… but Foggy Bottom if you insist

    IMG_0077Vibe: Dean & Deluca is much more a market than a coffee shop, but they have quite an extensive seating area which makes it feel pretty cafe-y once you get outside. It feels very European and cool and there’s always a variety of people.

Wifi: I got the wifi password, but unfortunately it didn’t work for me. I’m not sure if that’s something specific to me and my computer or if it just wasn’t working.

Hours: Monday – Saturday: 8AM – 9PM, Sunday: 8AM – 8PM

IMG_0078

Coffee & Food: I got an iced mocha and it was actually pretty good. I have been here so many times for food and have never thought get a coffee, but I finally surrendered. I get the feeling that every single time you order, it would taste differently. The barista and I were joking because her fellow employee was telling her she was using too much chocolate (which in this case was true… who knew something could have too much chocolate #foreignconcept). If the other girl had made it, it would have probably been completely different, but you can tell they use high quality ingredients, so at the roots, it will always be yummy. As for the food, I always come here for sandwiches or their ready-made food, specifically the salmon. Every time, I always leave a bit upset though because I spend more than I want to… but it’s so yummy that I somehow justify it. But they have tons and tons of foods and drinks that it’s worth a stop by. (They excel at lunch)

Music: It’s the type that blends into the background, so it’s pretty nondescript. Mainly just instrumental music that’s pretty relaxing.

Pricing: As I touched on above, this place is SO expensive. Think: $12 for a sandwich, $14 for a piece of salmon, and $5 for an iced mocha. But at the end of the day, a lot of the times it just seems like the best choice in Georgetown if your a) by yourself b) don’t want to sit down and be waited on.

IMG_0080

Seating: There’s no seating inside, but there’s tons outside. There’s always a table available and it’s in this really cute enclosed garage that’s very charming. There’s fans for the summer and in the winter it’s heated, so no matter what time of the year it’s an ideal place to sit. Plus, for when it’s either too hot or cold to be outside, you get the best of both worlds because it feels like you’re outside even though you’re not technically.

Overall: I come to Dean & Deluca all the time because contrary to popular belief, there aren’t that many places to eat if your by yourself or want something quick. That’s why I really like Dean & Deluca- because you can get delicious food and drinks and sit outside on the adorable patio. It’s by no means super fantastic, but it gets the job done while I’m in Georgetown (which is often). And you know, I like to give you options. Options are where it’s at. I’m all about options. 

If you haven’t already, make sure to sign up for the newsletter where you’ll see exclusive content and recaps.

As always, you can follow along by following the hashtag #coffeexploring and @musingsovermochas

Leave a Reply

