Retrospect Coffee & Tea // Washington, D.C.

Name: Retrospect Coffee & Tea 

Location: 1020 19th Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20036

Closest Metro Stop: Farragut North Metro Station

FullSizeRender-3

Vibe: Since Retrospect is located pretty much in the heart of Farragut Square, a very business centered location, that’s exactly how it feels. It’s situated in the ground level retail space of a tall building, so the charm is missing big time. From the outside, I was hesitant to go in because even though this coffee hunt is about the coffee, it’s actually more about the entirety of the experience, so I was already dismayed walking in because of it’s strip-mall-y appearance. Once you get inside, it gets a little better. You can tell that they’ve done the best they could with trying to make it cute, but it just misses the mark for me.

Wifi: Yep! You have to ask for it, but they do have it.

Hours: Monday-Friday 7:30AM-5PM, Saturday & Sunday Closed

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 12.09.51 PM

Coffee & Food: So the reason I overcame my reservation to come in was because I had read online that they actually have really good coffee… that and I didn’t know where else I would go (I needed wifi for a work call in 20 minutes!). When I came inside, the older man working there was very leisurely, which is fine. Like, I’m cool with that. Take your time. Buuuttt, if you’re gonna take your time, my mocha better be superb. When he handed me the mocha and it looked like this I was low key upset, but obviously still tried it. For the first five minutes I was like, you know what, this is actually pretty good. It tasted like there was whipped cream infused into the drink so I got a lot of fluffiness with every sip (#heaven). But then, five minutes later, I realized that the coffee was never that hot to begin with so now it was lukewarm and undrinkable. Gross. But ultimately, it was okay because I realized that the mocha was reminiscent of old Christmas chocolates, which I’m really not into. As for the blueberry muffin, it was airy and delicious. It tasted like the majority of blueberry muffins I’ve eaten in my life, but it satisfied me.

Music: Michael Buble. Enough said.

Pricing: $7.70 for both, so pretty average. Did I feel like it was worth it? No.

FullSizeRender

Seating: There’s lots of seating inside, including tables and bar seating. There’s also some outside which is nice if you come on a pretty day. The view isn’t great, but the sunshine on your skin is priceless.

Overall: I think this place is best for if you work in the area and are just popping in for a simple tea or coffee. There’s really not much more to say. I wouldn’t come back, which is a shame because apparently this is the best place for coffee near Farragut Square. New life goal? Open an adorable coffee shop near Farragut/Dupont? I think yes. I’m telling you it would make millions.

If you haven’t already, make sure to sign up for the newsletter where you’ll see exclusive content and recaps.

As always, you can follow along by following the hashtag #coffeexploring and @musingsovermochas

Leave a Reply

